You can add users to Alfabet by adding them manually as described below. Users can also be added via the data capture functionalities.

Go to Account Management > User Administration. Click the  New  New > Create New User and fill in the fields:

  • First Name: Enter the user’s first name. You may enter up to 128 characters.
  • Name: Enter the user’s family name. You may enter up to 128 characters.
  • User Name: Enter a name that the user must enter when logging in to Alfabet. Because the user name required for login is not case-sensitive, the user name will be saved to the database in upper-case letters.
  • Phone: Enter a telephone number where this user can be reached.
  • Enforce Password Change: If you select this checkbox, the user must change their password during the first login. The checkmark will automatically be removed from the Enforce Password Change checkbox after the user has changed the password. This is only relevant for users that are managed in Alfabet and login to Alfabet via standard login. This not relevant for users whose passwords are managed by single sign-on or Windows sign-on.
  • Type Select NamedUser . Every user of the type NamedUser must be assigned at least one user profile.
  • Is Alfabet-Managed User: Set the checkbox if the user should log in with use name and password. Clear the checkbox if user login should be managed by a single sign-on mechanism.
  • User Profiles: Assign at least one user profile to the user. Depending on the user's responsibilities, you can assign more than one user profile. The user profile will determine the functionalities and views that a user can see as well as whether they have read-only vs. read/write permissions to the objects they see. Click here to see an overview of available user profiles
  • User Groups: Select the user groups that the user shall belong. A user assigned to a user group has read/write permissions to the objects that are associated with the user group. Click to learn more about access permissions via user group authorization.
  • General User Permissions:
    • Can Execute Batch Jobs: Select the checkbox if the user may execute batch utilities designed to access the Alfabet database in stand-alone or remote mode. Access to batch utilities should only be allowed for administrators.
    • Exclude from Anonymization: Select the checkbox if the user should be excluded from any data anonymization actions.
    • Has Access to Diagram Designer: Select the checkbox if the user has permissions to design and edit diagrams. The Open Diagram button will be available via the  Edit edit button in diagrams for this user.
  • Password Expiration Date: Enter an expiration date for the password. The user’s password will expire on this date and the user will need to define a new password to access Alfabet.
  • Email: Enter the user's email address.
  • Email Notification Language: Select the language to be used for the text messages in automatically-generated email notifications. The default language is English.

Grant user access to the Diagram Designer

Alfabet provides powerful diagramming capabilities for visualizing and managing enterprise architecture through model-based diagrams. Unlike conventional drawing tools, Alfabet diagrams are directly linked to the underlying architecture repository, ensuring that visualizations remain connected to the data they represent. As architecture data evolves, related diagrams, viewpoints, and analyses can be updated accordingly, enabling consistent and accurate representations of the enterprise landscape.

Alfabet's Diagram Designer allows users to design diagrams visualizing a wide range of aspects of the IT landscape . Application landscape diagrams can be modeled from the viewpoint of applications, application groups, business capabilities, business processes, demands, epics, projects, components, vendors, servers, and organizations. In addition, Alfabet supports business process modeling through BPMN diagrams and provides numerous ArchiMate viewpoints for illustrating business, application, data, and technology architectures. Also users with access to the Diagram Designer can modify the visualization of a network diagrams.

Access to the Diagram Designer is limited to the users that have been granted access to the Diagram Designer. If a user has permissions to design and edit diagrams, the Open Diagram button will be available via the  Edit edit button. This button is only be visible for users for which the Has Access to Diagram Designer is set to True.

To provide a user access to the Diagram Designer,

  1. Go to Account Management > User Administration.
  2. Select the user and click the EditSingle edit button.
  3. In the editor, select the Has Access to Diagram Designer checkbox in the General Permissions section.
  4. Click OK.