Any new object that you create in Alfabet Expand is a configuration object. This includes, for example, content areas, data workbenches, guided data views, workflows and workflow steps, configured reports, class settings, etc. Configuration objects are displayed as nodes in the explorers available in Alfabet Expand.

Right-click the configuration object node in the explorer to open the context menu and access functionalities associated with the configuration object, like, for example, create and delete interactions.

Click the configuration object node in the explorer to display the attribute window in the right pane.

For some configuration objects, like, for example, XML objects, an editor pane is available on double-click on the configuration object node in the explorer.

You must always click the Save  Save_Expand button in the Alfabet Expand toolbar to save your changes to configuration objects.

Objects in the explorers display icons that indicate the editability of the object:

  • A private object Class_Private with a red lock is ReadOnly and is displayed to provide guidance in defining new objects.
  • A protected object Class_Protected with an orange lock may have some property values that can be changed but the object may not be deleted.
  • A public object Class_Public with no lock may have all relevant property values changed and may be deleted.

In addition, some objects in explorers may displays icons indicating their object state (for example, workflows). As a solution designer, you can change the state of a configuration object to indicate whether it is currently in developement or in use, or deprecated. The state influences the behaviour of the configuration object.

  • An active object workflow_active will have a green symbol. Active objects are available for display on the user interface. An active object cannot be changed in Alfabet Expand.
  • A plan object workflow_plan will have an orange symbol. These objects can be edited in Alfabet Expand. Planned objects are not available for display on the user interface.
  • A retired object Workflow_Retired will have a red symbol. Retired objects are no longer in use. change

The state indicates the value of the attribute State of the configuration object. You cannot change the State attribute of a configuration obbject directly in the attribute window. Instead, right-click the object and select the relevant Set State to option.